Daily Post

juantetcts

Acceptance

I was an emotional, mentally exhausted wreck when I crawled into the rooms of Al-Anon licking my wounds, waving the white flag high in the air to accept defeat. Trying to control others and navigate my own life was a huge battle. I’d fought as long as I could, but was finally worn out. I was on a mission to save the life of someone I loved, which was my only intent when joining Al-Anon.  Their delivery of the news was gentle, but the reality was harsh. It was my life that needed saving. I could no longer be a safety net, stepping in to save the day in order to prevent painful consequences.

img_6086

The lesson learned was that the best way to love others is to allow them the dignity to make their own choices, regardless of my opinion. Hitting rock bottom and feeling the weight of their decisions was their…

View original post 82 more words

Leave a Reply

